Playing Punka: Shooting

Although rushing up to an enemy and beating the crap out of their ugly face is always fun and also decrease your stress levels, it is usually better for your own health to wipe them out from a safe and confortable distance. So today we are trying to explain in depth this all thing about Shooting.

Shooting

Shooting itself is really simple. You must roll a d10 and get equal or less than your Precision Attribute. There are of course several factors that affect your Precision, which we will discuss further on, but essentially it’s just like that: you beat that roll, you hit.

ejemplo5

Distances

Ranged weapons have three tiers or ranges of distance, which might modify your Precision when Shooting.  These tiers are Short, Medium and Long ranges. Shooting at Short range will give you a +1 bonus to Precision, doing so at Medium range will not give you any modifier, and Shooting at Long range will impose you a -1 penalty to Precision. It is not possible to shoot beyond the longest range indicated in each weapon. The specific set of ranges for each weapon is included in its description.

2016_09_29_0029In this example picture we have a Ganger Badass with Precision 6 and armed with a shotgun.  Shotguns have the Pellets Special rule, which grants the shooter a +1 to Precision due to the ammo dispersion, so she can shoot it with Precision 7. The ranges of a shotgun are 4″/8″/12″. That means the Ganger Badass will get a +1 to her Precision if she shoots at a target up to 4″, no modifier at all if she shoots at a target beyond 4″ and up to 8″, and a penalty of -1 to Precision if she shoots at a target beyond 8″ and up to 12″. She won’t be able to hit any target beyond 12″ of distance. This Badass could, hence, shoot with Precision 8 at the nearest slimy Mutard, with Precision 7 at the Mongrelmorph, with Precision 6 at the Pit beast, and she won’t be able to hit the farthest Mutardess. As she has got a 7 in her die roll, she would have hit the first Mutard or the Mongrelmorph had she shot at them, but would have missed the Pit beast.

Aiming

A miniature can spend an Action to Aim. If it does so, all further Shooting Actions it makes during that Action Turn will have a +3 bonus to Precision if they are made against the same enemy target (you can’t Aim and benefit from the bonus against two different targets). You can’t Aim twice in the same Action Turn to sum up several bonus for Aiming.

2015_03_09_0215b

It is the Action Turn of the Ganger with the bow. His Precision is 5, but the bow has the Hard to use Special rule, which imposes him a -1 penalty to Precision and lowers it to 4. Both Mutards are at Short range, so he would get a +1 bonus to Precision against any of them. That means he would anyway shoot with Precision 5. As he has two Actions for this Turn, that means he can spend the first one Aiming and get a +3 bonus to a single shot with his second Action, making it a Precision 8 roll. Or maybe he is feeling lucky and wants to floor both enemies, deciding to make two separate shots with his two Actions, without Aiming, needing 5 or less in each roll to hit.

Shooting at a combat

It is possible to shoot at an enemy miniature engaged in a Combat, but you will get a -3 penalty to the Precision roll. If your Precision roll fails due to such penalty, the shooter will have hit the friendly miniature engaged in the frey.

2016_09_29_0030

A Junker Gear shoots with her rifle at Short range against a Combat where there is an allied miniature (Rabiosa is a Merc, today working for the Junkers). She has Precision 3, which gets a +1 bonus for Short range. As she has a -3 penalty to Precision for shooting at a Combat, that means she will only hit her enemy with a result of 1 in a d10. But if she fails due to such penalty, that is, if she gets 2, 3 or 4 in her die roll, she would have hit her ally. If she gets 5 or more, she would have simply missed the shot completely. If she had Aimed before Shooting, for example, gaining a +3 bonus to Precision, she would hit the Mutardess with a die roll of 1, 2, 3 o 4, and her ally with a result of 5, 6 o 7.

Cover

In a battlefield it is always wise to use scenery elements to take cover. As long as a scenery element covers at least half a miniature, seen from the point of view of the shooting miniature, the first one will be considered to be behind Cover. Covers have an Armor value, which is added to the miniature’s.

2016_09_29_0024

The Junker can shoot at the Mutard without restrictions, as the scenery element does not cover at least half his disgusting body.

2016_09_29_0025

Now the Mutard does have the benefits of Cover. If the Junker shoots at him, he would add the Armor value of a thick metal pipe, adding +6 to his Armor.

But the Junker can choose to try avoiding this Cover, which implies a harder shot. Shooting at a miniature behind Cover trying to avoid it has a -3 penalty to Precision. This means that in this example the Junker, who has a Precision of let’s say 5, can choose to shoot at 5 or less but letting the Mutard to benefit from the Armor bonus granted by the Cover, or do it with a -3 penalty to Precision and hit her enemy only with 1 or 2 but avoiding the Armor bonus granted by the pipe.

2015_02_14_0069

If the Cover is granted by a miniature, be it friend or foe, you will have to apply the rules for Shooting at a combat. The miniature shooting would suffer a -3 penalty to Precision, and if its roll fails due to that penalty, it would have hit the miniature granting the Cover. In this example, if the Ganger with bow wants to shoot at the Mutard Bobblehead with a final Precision of 5, he would hit him with a roll of 1 or 2, and the Mutard in the middle with a result of 3, 4 or 5. The rest of the results would mean a complete failure.

Stacking Covers

In those cases where a miniature is behind more than one Cover, you would have to add a +1 bonus to Armor for each scenery element beyond the first one, applied to the highest Armor value of all the Covers involved.

2015_02_14_0075

The Bobblehead is behind the Cover of some barrels granting him a +3 bonus to Armor, and a metallic structure which grants him a +6 bonus. That would make the Bobblehead to have a total Armor bonus of +7 due to Cover, the highest 6 with a +1 added for the additional scenery element.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply